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Executive Summary
J.M. found his way onto the state’s registry of sex offenders by having 
sex six times with a 12-year-old girl, the daughter of his father’s live-in 
girlfriend. The girl had been the victim of a previous rape. Two years later, 
in 1999, he was in trouble 
again, this time for molesting 
a 15-year-old. After he violated 
probation, a Los Angeles judge 
tacked another three years onto 
his sentence.

Shortly after leaving prison, 
J.M. registered with one of 
seven California organizations 
authorized to certify drug 
and alcohol counselors. The 
registration allowed him to 
work in a field in which the 
number one complaint from 
clients is sexual misconduct. 

While registered as a counselor, 
J.M was convicted of a drug 
offense. For one-third of the 
time he was registered to 
provide counseling to addicts, 
he was sentenced to sit behind 
bars.

J.M.’s case illustrates some of 
the shortcomings in the state’s 
oversight of those entrusted to 
counsel alcoholics and other 
addicts.

Californians who seek help 

Becoming a counselor
in California
To begin working as a drug and 
alcohol counselor in a treatment 
program regulated by the 
Department of Alcohol and Drug 
Programs (ADP), an individual must 
register with one of seven private 
organizations. No experience 
is required. These “certifying 
organizations” have been approved 
by a national accreditor. Within five 
years of registering, counselors must 
meet education, training and testing 
requirements and become certified. 
Counselors who can demonstrate 
a hardship may be granted a two-
year extension.  ADP investigates 
complaints made against both 
registrants and certified counselors. 
The certifying organization may 
also investigate. ADP can order 
the certifying organization to 
revoke a counselor’s registration 
or certification, or to take other 
disciplinary action. 
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for addictions must rely on a system that allows them to be treated by 
registered sex offenders and other serious felons, as well as counselors 
facing current drug and alcohol charges and those already revoked for 
misconduct, an investigation by the Senate Office of Oversight and 
Outcomes found. Counselors can easily flout education and training 
requirements.

For three decades, the state and the treatment industry have been unable 
to agree on a framework to give the state the authority to credential 
counselors. Instead, California created a public-private hybrid that 
precludes criminal background checks and leaves gaps that can be 
exploited by counselors who move between seven private organizations 
that register and certify them. Under the current system, these private 
organizations register novice counselors. When they achieve a certain 
level of training and experience, the organizations certify them. Despite 
its lack of involvement in this certification process, the state is in charge of 
investigating when counselors break the rules.

About 36,000 registered or certified counselors work in 2,534 private 
and publicly funded drug and alcohol programs, ranging from luxury 
residential rehabs to DUI and outpatient programs. This workforce is key 
to the successful treatment of alcoholics and other addicts. Demand for 
their services will grow as people newly insured under the Affordable Care 
Act seek help for substance dependence.

Many counselors draw from their own struggles with alcoholism and drug 
addiction to excel at a difficult job for not much pay. But some come to 
the profession with serious criminal backgrounds that raise questions about 
their fitness to treat clients, who are often at one of the most vulnerable 
points in their lives.

California is one of only two states among the nation’s 15 largest that makes 
no attempt to review counselors’ criminal backgrounds. Even within 
California, drug and alcohol counselors are the only health-related profession 
not required to undergo these checks. Among those who submit to screening 
are acupuncturists, dental hygienists, optometrists and veterinarians.

Our investigation found 23 sex offenders permitted to work as counselors. 
The actual number is undoubtedly much higher – we focused only on 
those whose names were unusual enough that we could confirm that the 
counselor and sex offender were one in the same.

Most are rapists and pedophiles. K.F., for instance, was convicted in Los 
Angeles of 110 counts of lewd acts upon a child for molesting four children 
in three separate families. He had been hired to babysit the victims, who 



California Senate Office of
Oversight and Outcomes May 13, 2013

3

ranged in age from a 6-month-old infant to a 9-year-old. Upon release 
from prison in 2005, he signed up with one of the state’s seven private 
organizations accredited to certify drug and alcohol counselors.

Sex offenses are not the only cause for concern. In one case detailed in 
our report, a Santa Rosa woman with four theft convictions became a 
counselor and stole $55,000 from a client.

Almost all other large states want to know about serious convictions before 
credentialing drug and alcohol counselors, even if the disclosure doesn’t 
automatically disqualify them. Among the 14 other states we contacted – 
accounting with California for two-thirds of the U.S. population – only 
Pennsylvania resembles California in neither requiring a criminal 
background check nor asking applicants to report their criminal histories. 
(Two others that require criminal background checks for licensing allow 
some unlicensed counselors to treat clients.)

Some bar applicants if they’ve been convicted of certain crimes. Others 
look at each case individually. Some do fingerprint-based computer searches. 
Others trust applicants to report their own criminal histories. There are 
almost as many approaches as states. What they all have in common is an 
attempt to screen out individuals who could put clients at risk.

In Part II of this report, we show how California also is unusual in its lack 
of a system for detecting arrests or convictions that occur after someone 
has become a counselor. The entities that might act on such information – 
the state, certifying organizations and treatment programs – have no way 
of being alerted if a counselor with a history of addiction has suffered a 
relapse, possibly jeopardizing their clients’ recoveries. Our investigation 
found several cases in which counselors racked up DUI or drug 
convictions or committed sex offenses while employed as counselors. 

Part III reveals that California’s counselor workforce includes health-
care professionals who have lost their credentials for misconduct. Among 
them are certified nurse assistants found to have abused patients, a San 
Bernardino County doctor who prescribed dangerous medications over the 
Internet to patients he’d never met, including an addict, and a nurse who 
stole the identities of elderly and deceased patients at a San Bernardino 
hospital. Several other states contacted by the oversight office say they 
consult a national database of disciplined health care professionals before 
licensing or certifying drug and alcohol counselors.

Our review also turned up counselors who’ve been barred from receiving 
Medicare or Medi-Cal payments as the result of misconduct, including an 
Orange County counselor who was part of a conspiracy to steal $250,000 
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from patients at an extended care hospital, and a San Leandro nursing 
home owner convicted of inflating bills by almost $3 million.

Part IV illustrates how California’s system is so lax it can be easily 
manipulated by those who have been disciplined. We found cases in which 
counselors revoked for misconduct kept working by simply signing up 
with another certifying organization. An Orange County counselor, for 
instance, had his certification revoked for getting paid to compile clients’ 
names on a referral list for an insurance company, a major breach of 
confidentiality. He signed up with a different organization and kept working.

The ability to easily evade regulators represents a gaping loophole in 
California’s system. While the state’s seven certifying organizations are 
required to check with their counterparts to see if a counselor has ever been 
revoked, the regulation states that this must be done only upon certification. 
But counselors can work for five years before they must become certified.

Even that loophole does not explain the case of O.Z., a counselor in 
Hawaiian Gardens. The state Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs 
(ADP) ordered her certification revoked after an investigation found that 
she was living with a client, a blatant violation of ethical standards. Less 
than a month after ADP’s investigation, O.Z. registered with a different 
certifying organization, the Breining Institute, and continued working. 
Two years later, Breining certified her. Before taking this step, Breining was 
required by regulation to check to see if she had ever been revoked and to 
notify ADP if it chose to certify her. ADP says it was never notified.

Other cases underscore the flimsiness of the system. A San Bernardino 
counselor and her boyfriend embezzled $136,000 from the program where 
they both worked. She had registered with two certifying organizations, 
but only one revoked her, allowing her to keep providing treatment.

In another case, a program allowed a Modesto counselor to keep 
performing admissions, a counselor function, even after his certifying 
organization revoked him for having an affair with a client. After the 
counselor admitted a patient who was too sick to be there, who later died, 
ADP interviewed him but failed to note that his registration had been 
revoked. Even then, he continued to work at the same program until he 
registered with a different certifying organization and someone made a 
complaint to ADP.

In a related problem, as described in Part V, some counselors are flouting 
a state regulation that requires them to get the training and education 
qualifying them for certification within five years of registering. We found 
52 counselors who appear to have gone past the five-year deadline by 
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simply changing registration from one certifying organization to another. 
S.J., a counselor in Riverside, registered with Breining five days before 
she hit the five-year limit with California Association of Alcoholism and 
Drug Abuse Counselors. When her renewal date arrives in 2015, S.J. will 
have worked nine years without certification. The number of counselors 
working past five years could have been higher if we had been able to test 
cross-registrants in all seven certifying organizations.

This is an opportune time for an overhaul of the counselor certification 
system, since ADP is scheduled to be disbanded in July 2013, and its duties 
handed over to the Department of Health Care Services, which plans to 
take a fresh look at many of ADP’s practices.

The report makes several recommendations. In light of our findings, 
the Legislature may want to reconsider past efforts to give the state the 
authority to license and/or certify counselors. Alternatively, the state could 
authorize and require certifying organizations to do criminal background 
checks and subsequent arrest notifications, and set up an advisory 
panel of industry professionals to evaluate criminal histories and make 
recommendations.
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Background
For more than three decades, California has been struggling with 
the question of whether to require drug and alcohol counselors to be 
credentialed, and if so, who should be in charge of that process – the 
state or private entities.

The result today is a hybrid system filled with gaps and inconsistencies.
As long ago as 1980, those in the recovery business discussed the 
possibility of state certification of drug and alcohol counselors. But until 
2005, the state’s only requirement was that counselors pass a tuberculosis 
test. The state Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs set criteria for 
directors who ran treatment programs, but not for the counselors who 
worked there.

In 2000, voter approval of Proposition 36, which allowed treatment 
instead of incarceration for non-violent drug offenders, led to calls for 
professionalization of the counselor workforce. Senate Bill 537 in 2001 
required the Department of Consumer Affairs to determine whether 
the state should license drug and alcohol counselors and, if so, what 
standards to put in place.

The bill was vetoed by Gov. Gray Davis. One concern was that requiring 
counselors to be licensed would reduce their numbers just as demands 
on treatment programs increased as a result of Proposition 36. In his veto 
message, however, Davis acknowledged some need to impose standards. 
He directed ADP to come up with regulations for certifying counselors.

As the regulations were being considered, treatment programs and 
organizations that certify counselors again warned against strict standards 
that would prevent too many people from becoming counselors, a 
problem they said had been encountered by other states that set the bar 
too high.

The regulations went into effect on April 1, 2005. They delegated the 
certification of counselors to ten private organizations, which must 
be accredited by a national organization. (The number of certifying 
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organizations has since decreased to seven.) They required all counselors 
either to register with or become certified by one of the organizations. 
Those who register must get certified within five years. For the first time, 
the regulations set minimum standards for certification, including a score 
of at least 70 percent on a test, work experience and formal classroom 
education on drug and alcohol counseling.

One provision required that five years after the regulations went into 
effect – 2010 – treatment programs would have to assure that 30 percent 
of their treatment staffs were certified.

The regulations included a code of conduct. They made ADP responsible 
for investigating complaints against counselors. Within 90 days of receiving 
a complaint, ADP is required to send a written order to a counselor’s 
certifying organization specifying what corrective action, if any, must 
be taken. Before certifying a counselor, the private organizations are 
required to check with their counterparts to determine if a counselor has 
ever been revoked.

Since the regulations took effect in 2005, there have been several failed 
attempts to scrap this hybrid system in favor of state control. These efforts 
are detailed in Part I of this report.

Organizations that register and certify counselors must 
be accredited by a national organization. Currently, there 
are seven.

Addiction Counselor Certification Board of 
California

Lakewood

American Academy of Health Care Providers in 
the Addictive Disorders

Solano Beach

Board of Certification of Addiction Specialists 
(affiliated with California Association of Addiction 
Recovery Resources)

Sacramento 

Breining Institute Sacramento 
California Association of Drinking Driver 
Treatment Programs

Sacramento 

California Certification Board of Alcohol and 
Drug Counselors

Sacramento 

Indian Alcoholism Commission of California, Inc. Redding
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The governor’s proposed budget for the 2013-14 fiscal year calls for ADP 
to be disbanded and its functions, including counselor oversight, handed 
over to the Department of Health Care Services.

About 36,000 Californians are registered or certified drug and alcohol 
counselors, according to ADP. With the implementation of the 
Affordable Care Act, many newly-insured people are expected to seek 
treatment. The federal government and insurers, meanwhile, may impose 
greater standards on providers. In combination, these developments are 
likely to lead to greater scrutiny of California’s system of overseeing those 
who provide drug and alcohol treatment.
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I. California’s lack of criminal 
background checking means sex 
offenders and other serious offenders
can become counselors
Our investigation found 23 sex offenders who have been registered 
or certified to work as drug and alcohol counselors since 2005, when 
counselors first became subject to regulation.

The number is undoubtedly much higher. Our examination included 
only the three largest of the seven certifying organizations, and focused on 
names that were so unusual that we could determine with certainty that 
the sex offender and the counselor were the same person.

While the presence of registered sex offenders in drug and alcohol rehabs 
raises questions on its own, it points to a larger problem: California is one 
of the few large states that does not require drug and alcohol counselors 
to undergo criminal background checks. Some states don’t demand 
background checks, but require applicants to self-report criminal histories. 
California doesn’t do even that.

The Senate Office of Oversight focused on sex offenders for two reasons. 
No other criminals are required to register and have their names included 
in a public database. We were able to cross-check that database against 
lists of drug and alcohol counselors. And counselors with sex-offender 
pasts are perhaps the most dramatic example of the pitfalls of the state 
choosing to ignore criminal histories. Their names are posted on a public 
registry because they are considered dangerous even after they have served 
their time. Those who work as drug and alcohol counselors enter a field 
that relies to an unusual degree on trust – and honoring of boundaries – 
between counselor and client.

Sex offenses are not the only crime of concern in the treatment industry, 
however. Our investigation found a case in which a woman with an extensive 
history of theft got certified as a counselor and stole $55,000 from a client.
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Among the registered sex offenders identified in our investigation were 
some who committed crimes 40 years ago, and others who got into 
trouble in the past decade. Some have worked for or are now employed by 
drug and alcohol programs. In other cases, we were not able to confirm 
experience in the treatment industry. Some may have registered and never 
found work as a counselor.

Most are rapists and child molesters.

Our report uses only the initials of the offenders. Our investigation focuses 
on the pitfalls of the system set up by state government, not the actions of 
individuals. It should also be noted that, despite their criminal histories, 
these individuals apparently violated no law or regulation by working as 
counselors. In cases described later in this report, in which counselors 
appear to have engaged in misconduct, we are providing full names to 
the Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs.

J.M. was convicted of two sex crimes before he registered to work as a drug 
and alcohol counselor. He had sex six times with a 12-year-old daughter 
of his father’s live-in girlfriend, who had been a victim of a previous rape. 
Two years later, in 1999, he was convicted of molesting a 15-year-old.

Shortly after leaving prison, J.M. registered with the Breining Institute, 
one of seven California organizations authorized to certify drug and 
alcohol counselors.

K.F. was convicted of 110 counts of lewd acts upon a child in 1995 after he 
molested four children he was babysitting in three separate families. The 
children ranged in age from an infant to a 9-year-old. The Los Angeles 
District Attorney made a special allegation that K.F. had violated a position 
of trust and engaged in “substantial sexual contact” with the victims. In 
sentencing him to 20 years in prison, the judge recommended that he be 
committed to a prison that specialized in pedophiles.

Upon his release in 2005, K.F. registered with the Breining Institute. He let 
his registration lapse two years later. Our investigation could not determine 
whether K.F. worked as a counselor.

S.N. was working in a private home as a registered nurse, taking care of 
a disabled 9-year-old boy and his 6-year old sister, when he was accused 
of taking the girl’s hand while she sat on his lap on several occasions and 
putting it on his penis or groin. He served almost eight months of a one-
year jail term. In 2001, the California Board of Registered Nursing revoked 
his license. S.N. also admitted a history of drug use and was convicted of 
possession of marijuana and methamphetamine after his release from jail.
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In 2005, he registered with the California Association of Alcoholism and 
Drug Abuse Counselors, or CAADAC. Five years later, he was certified as 
a counselor. In 2011, he passed the test to become a higher-level counselor. 
S.N. has been working for a substance abuse treatment program in 
Murrieta for several years.

M.H. was sentenced to six years in prison in 2003 after being found guilty 
of lewd acts upon his stepdaughter in El Dorado County. He had been 
molesting the 13-year-old girl for several months. 

The girl told a detective that she would zip herself into a sleeping bag at 
night, hoping that it would protect her. 

“She described being afraid of him because when he would discipline her 
or spank her, it would really hurt,” the detective testified. “So she had this 
fear if she said anything or did anything, he would hurt her.”

In 2011, M.H. was certified as a counselor by the California Association 
of Addiction Recovery Resources, or CAARR. He let it lapse a year later. 
Our investigation was not able to determine what treatment programs, 
if any, employed M.H.

H.D. was sentenced to six years in 1986 for forcing a 12-year-old boy in 
Los Angeles to engage in a sexual act. Shortly after getting out of prison 
in 1990, he put on a ski mask and pulled a gun on two women sitting in 
a parked car and demanded their money. When one woman said “I’m 
pregnant, don’t hurt me,” he replied, “I don’t care. I just got out of prison,” 
according to the victim’s testimony. He made off with a ring and a wallet, 
but was caught after one of the victims realized she recognized him as a 
former classmate. He was sentenced to another 11 years and eight months.
 
In 2011, more than a decade after getting out of prison, he registered as 
a drug counselor with The Breining Institute, and recently renewed his 
registration until 2015. He has worked at a drug treatment center in Los 
Angeles.

B.T. admitted to forcing sex upon her ex-girlfriend in 2007 in Los Angeles 
and was sentenced to a year in jail and five years of formal probation. She 
registered with CAADAC in 2010 and 2011, during which time she worked 
for a drug treatment program in Downey. She let her registration expire. 
In 2012, she was convicted again, this time for grand theft.

C.S. became a registered sex offender as the result of a conviction in 1984. 
C.S. and a friend met a group of girls in a Pasadena park, and offered one 
of them a ride home. Instead, they took her to the home of C.S.’s friend. 
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The two young men each took her by an arm, forced her into the house 
and raped her. C.S. was sentenced to 12 years after pleading guilty to 
three counts of forcible rape.

In 2011, he registered as a counselor with CAADAC. The registration 
expired a year later. On his Facebook page, C.S. says that he worked as 
a counselor, although our office could not verify his workplace.

H.H. was sent to prison for three years in 1997 after the daughter of his 
live-in girlfriend told her counselor that he had been molesting her, starting 
when she was 13. The girl, who had been sexually abused in a different 
case between the ages of five and seven, told Oakland police that she was 
afraid to tell anyone because she didn’t want to cause problems between 
her mother and H.H. After being released from prison in 1999, he earned 
a certificate to be a drug and alcohol counselor with the Breining Institute. 
At the age of 48, he got a college degree. He is now a master’s level 
registered addiction specialist and works for the state in vocational training.

In an interview, H.H. said that he has struggled throughout his career as a 
counselor to avoid the stigma of being on the sex offender registry.

“I deal with it every day,” he said.

After going through addiction treatment himself, he worked as a volunteer 
while he was going through community college. When he became a 
paid temp, he disclosed his past to his supervisors and his co-workers. 
The clients found out as well. Some didn’t care, H.H. said, but others did. 
He told those clients they had the right to request another counselor.

He became focused on helping those, like himself, who were having a 
hard time re-entering society after addiction or, in some cases, sexual 
offenses. He did an internship with the state, and decided to apply for 
a permanent position. Although he was not asked on his application to 
disclose his criminal history, he revealed it to his supervisor, knowing that 
it would come out eventually.

“I try to get them to know me,” he said. “I tried to be proactive.”

In another 15 cases, we were able to confirm that a registered sex offender 
had registered or been certified as a counselor. But we could determine 
little else about the circumstances and details of the original offense or 
the subsequent work history.
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Do sex offenders pose a danger to clients?

Many researchers have found that, contrary to widespread belief, sex 
offender recidivism rates are lower than those of other criminals.

It’s also worth noting, however, that researchers believe that well over 
half of sexual assaults never come to light.

And putting sex offenders in positions of trust as counselors raises unusual 
issues.

“Obviously, the main risk is that you could have someone in a counseling 
position who has quite a bit of control over a client,” said Maia Christopher, 
executive director of the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Offenders 
in Beaverton, Oregon. That power can be even greater if the client has 
been ordered into treatment by a court, or is seeking drug or alcohol 
counseling as part of a child custody dispute.

“A counselor can have a large say in a person’s life,” Christopher said. That 
could make the client vulnerable to unwanted sexual advances, she said.

Another risk is that a client who has not been told of a counselor’s 
background could feel betrayed, especially if the client has been a victim 
of abuse in the past, Christopher said.

“The violation of trust could come with secrecy and a lack of disclosure,” 
she said.

Many factors could play into whether a sexual offender can work safely as a 
counselor. If the offense involved children, Christopher said, “that doesn’t 
necessarily preclude them from working with adults.” Even then, she said, 
it would be important to establish safeguards.

In addition, some research has indicated that many sexual offenders do 
not always stick to a preferred victim type. Those who assault children may 
also target adults, according to a 2003 study by the Colorado Department 
of Corrections.

Another variable is how long the behavior continued – was it a one-time 
transgression or a pattern? And what type of setting will the counselor be 
in? It may be more fitting to have a sexual offender lead group sessions 
than to engage in individual therapy, which involves greater intimacy.
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Sex crimes not the only concern

Although our investigation focused on counselors who committed sex 
offenses, we came upon one case demonstrating the value of screening 
for other types of crimes.

Before being certified as a counselor in 2005, S.M. had racked up four 
theft-related convictions. In 1999, she stole more than $400 worth of 
merchandise from a supermarket in Sonoma County and was sentenced 
to one year in jail. During that time, she underwent substance abuse 
treatment and decided to become a counselor.

“My personal goal is to be a self-sufficient woman, and to be (finally) a 
productive member of society,” she wrote to a judge. “I want very much 
to work in some capacity in the recovery field.”

In October 2009, S.M. was working as a counselor at a treatment center in 
Santa Rosa. One of her clients was a 60-year-old disabled woman who had 
been a drug addict and was receiving methadone treatment. The woman 
had also been under psychiatric care, according to a brief filed by Attorney 
General Kamala Harris in an ensuing appellate court case.

During the counseling sessions, the client told S.M. that she had just 
inherited $100,000. She said she felt lonely and isolated. The counselor 
began visiting her at home. S.M. persuaded the woman to loan her $6,000 
for one business venture and another $50,000 to underwrite another 
project, a counseling center. Six months later, the woman demanded 
that S.M. return the $6,000 and account for the $50,000 investment in 
the counseling center, according to the attorney general’s brief. When 
the counselor refused, the woman called the police. S.M. admitted to 
the police that she never started a business and that the money for the 
counseling center “was all gone.” She was sentenced to two years in prison.

A criminal background check would have revealed S.M.’s history of theft 
and might have prevented her from becoming a counselor.

Other states review criminal histories

Most other large states have decided that, even if they don’t automatically 
disqualify felons from working as counselors, they at least want to know 
about criminal histories. The Office of Oversight called 14 states, accounting 
with California for two-thirds of the U.S. population. Only Pennsylvania 
neither required a criminal background check nor asked applicants to self-
report criminal histories.
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Other states take a variety of approaches. Some rely on fingerprint checks, 
while others use names and identifying information such as Social Security 
numbers. Some don’t do background checks but require applicants to 
self-report and sanction those who fail to do so. Some specify crimes that 
disqualify a person from working as a drug and alcohol counselor; others 
look at the circumstances of each case before making a decision.

Many of the states that require background checks do it when counselors 
first register to work, even if they are just interns or assistants. Others 
wait until counselors achieve the other requirements – education and 
experience – needed to apply for full-fledged certification or licensing. 
(California is unusual in requiring almost nothing for someone to register 
and start working as a counselor. Other states require not only criminal 
background checks, but a modicum of training, proof of employment or a 
commitment from a supervisor to monitor the trainee’s activities.)

In Texas, certain crimes – including sexual offenses against children or 
clients – disqualify a person from working as a counselor regardless of how 
long ago the crime occurred, said Stewart Myrick, director of the state’s 
Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor program. For other crimes, 
including sexual assault, people can apply with no restrictions after a 
certain time, ranging from three to 15 years depending on the seriousness 
of the offense.

Even in some of the states that don’t specify disqualifying crimes, officials 
said that an applicant with a history of sexual offenses would likely be 
rejected.

“If it’s child abuse, you will never be certified,” said Amy Peloquin, director 
of the Florida Certification Board, a private non-profit that certifies 
counselors. (Florida, however, does not require everyone who works in a 
treatment program to be certified, just that they be overseen by one “qualified 
professional” such as a certified counselor or other health care licensee.)

New York is in a transition from asking applicants to self-report to 
mandatory criminal background checks. While disqualifying crimes are 
not written in statute, applicants with histories of violent crimes, crimes 
against children or sexual abuse such as rape don’t get approved, said 
Sandy Alsum, credential unit manager of the New York State Office of 
Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services. Because recovering addicts are 
a vulnerable population, the state has concluded that allowing counselors 
with those kinds of backgrounds is too risky. The state requires applicants 
whose criminal histories involve substance dependence to be out of 
treatment for a full year before working in the field, Alsum said.
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Arizona also does not spell out disqualifying 
crimes. The state considers how long ago 
the crime occurred, whether it’s connected 
to the duties of being a counselor, and 
what the applicant has done since being 
convicted.

Similarly, New Jersey considers each case, 
but someone with a history of rape or 
pedophilia would likely have a tough 
time becoming a counselor, said Richard 
Bowe, executive director of the Addictions 
Professionals Division of The Certification 
Board, a non-profit that contracts with 
the state to do education and testing.

Several states require that applicants with 
criminal histories wait a certain interval 
before being certified or licensed as a 
counselor. The Florida non-profit that 
does certifications, for instance, requires 
that an applicant be crime-free for five 
years. North Carolina, like Texas, specifies 
in statute how much time must pass 
according to the severity of the offense. 
A sex offender would have to wait 20 
years after all aspects of the sentence were 
completed, including probation. After that, 
the applicant would be treated as any other, 
said Barden Culbreth, associate director 
of the North Carolina Substance Abuse 
Professional Practice Board.

 In Virginia, a state board will convene an 
informal hearing to review an application 
if the applicant has been convicted of a 
felony in the prior ten years. The state, 
however, does not do a criminal 
background check, relying instead on 
applicants to self-report.

In Massachusetts, counselors can be 
licensed by the state or certified by a 
private organization, although neither 
credential is required for those who work 

Source: Interviews with state officials
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in a drug treatment programs. Applicants for the state license must go 
through a criminal background check. Those with serious offenses must 
arrange an evaluation by an independent psychologist or social worker, said 
Michael Morini, program coordinator for the state’s Bureau of Substance 
Abuse Services.

There are almost as many approaches to licensing and certifying 
counselors as there are states. In Ohio, for instance, the state relies on 
applicants to report their own criminal histories, but formal background 
checks are not required until they are hired to work in a program.

Michigan requires counselors in publicly funded agencies to be certified 
by a private organization. While the certifying organization does not do 
criminal background checks, treatment programs are required by their 
state contracts to do them, said Jeffrey Wieferich, treatment section 
manager in Michigan’s Bureau of Substance Abuse.

Regardless of the variations, California and Pennsylvania stand out as the 
only two large states that make no attempt to screen most drug and alcohol 
counselors. The only exception in both states is treatment programs that 
counsel adolescents. In California, all staff in those programs must submit 
to criminal background checks, which are reviewed by ADP for crimes 
against children, or drug and alcohol offenses.

The lack of screening of drug and alcohol counselors is also an 
anomaly among health-related professionals within California. Many 
of these professionals are regulated by boards within the Department 
of Consumer Affairs. Those who must undergo fingerprint-based 
screening include marriage and family therapists, licensed clinical social 
workers, psychologists, acupuncturists, dental hygienists, dentists, doctors, 
naturopaths, optometrists, osteopaths, physical therapists, physician 
assistants, podiatrists, nurses, respiratory care specialists and veterinarians.

Some professionals not in the health care field are subject to criminal 
background checks, including accountants, funeral directors, contractors, 
court reporters, professional fiduciaries, and security guards.

California law does not generally specify crimes that would disqualify 
applicants from working in these professions. Rather, regulators review 
cases to determine if the crime was substantially related to the functions 
and qualifications of the profession.

Even in the absence of blanket prohibitions, however, “if you’re a sex 
offender, you’re not going to be a nurse or a dentist,” said Russ Heimerich, 
spokesman for the Department of Consumer Affairs.
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Legislature rejected a bill that would have required 
screening of counselors

In 2009, the Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs sponsored Senate 
Bill 707, which would have required criminal background checks for drug 
and alcohol counselors. The bill by Sen. Mark DeSaulnier also would 
have made sweeping changes to the regulation of the profession, giving the 
state the responsibility of registering, certifying and licensing counselors. 
It died in the Senate Appropriations Committee.

SB 707 was the latest in a series of failed attempts over several years to give 
the state a stronger hand in regulation of drug and alcohol counselors. 
One would have put counselors under the jurisdiction of the Board of 
Behavioral Sciences in the Department of Consumer Affairs. Another 
would have created a separate board in Consumer Affairs.

SB 707 required applicants to submit to a fingerprint-based state and 
federal background check through the California Department of Justice. 
The bill specified circumstances in which the Department of Alcohol and 
Drug Programs would be required to deny or revoke a license, certification 
or registration.

The legislation barred registered sex offenders from working as counselors. 
It also disqualified applicants with more than five criminal offenses over 
two years and those with a violent offense in the past three years. The 
bill was amended to allow applicants with violent felonies to work as 
counselors three years after conviction upon written approval of their 
parole officers. It gave ADP the option to reject those whose convictions 
substantially related to the practice of alcohol and drug counseling, a 
standard similar to the one used in many other health-related professions 
in California.

ADP argued that SB 707 would protect the public from dangerous 
or incompetent counselors. But several interest groups were opposed, 
including one of three largest organizations that certify counselors, the 
California Association of Addiction Recovery Resources (CAARR). The 
main objection was that the new requirements would make it harder 
for people to enter the field, leading to shortages in a profession known 
for low pay and high turnover. One opponent estimated that the new 
requirements, including the criminal background check, would cost an 
applicant $1,000 – a steep hurdle in a low-paying profession. They also 
raised the possibility that criminal background checks would exclude those 
with drug and alcohol convictions, traditionally a big part of the counselor 
workforce valued for their real-life experience.
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After the bill died, CAARR and the two other big certifying organizations – 
CAADAC and the Breining Institute – joined with other stakeholders in 
proposing an alternative. Senate Bill 1203 required fingerprint-based state 
and national criminal background checks when a person applied to become 
a counselor. The bill, also authored by Sen. DeSaulnier, required ADP to 
bar registered sex offenders, as well as those convicted of three or more 
felonies in a five-year period, and anyone convicted of a violent felony in 
the past five years. Like SB 707, it allowed an exception for applicants who 
had been convicted three or more years earlier and obtained permission 
from their parole officers. SB 1203 also died in committee.

Counselors have long been sensitive to the issue of criminal background 
checks. Many got into counseling while in recovery from their own 
addictions, which often involved scrapes with the law. Several years 
before the DeSaulnier bills, some nervous CAARR counselors called the 
association when ADP suggested instituting criminal background checks, 
said Executive Director Susan Blacksher.

If the state did start requiring criminal background checks, CAARR 
officials said they would advocate regulators reviewing each case to 
see if the circumstances reflected on the applicant’s fitness to work as 
a counselor, as happens in some other states and among other health 
professionals in California.

CAADAC, another of the three biggest certifying organizations, also favors 
that approach, said past president Warren Daniels. People with criminal 
pasts can become good counselors, he said. Daniels knows – he got out 
of prison in 1973 after committing a number of serious offenses. Not only 
has he had a clean record since: he oversaw the innovative financing and 
construction of a new Grass Valley wellness center that includes substance 
abuse and mental health treatment.

Despite that caveat, CAADAC believes criminal background checks are 
long overdue. The association has been pushing ADP to require them 
for years, Daniels said. In 2004, the state suggested that the certifying 
organizations do their own criminal checks, he said. But absent a state 
regulation expressly authorizing it, the certifying organizations believed 
that screening applicants would expose them to liability.

CAADAC considered including a criminal background check as part of a 
counseling license it issues. (The license is not recognized by California 
law.) But licensees objected that the association, unlike an employer or 
a government body, couldn’t demand checks, Daniels said. CAADAC’s 
lawyers agreed.
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As an employer, Daniels requires criminal screening. Indeed, some drug 
and alcohol programs go beyond the requirements of the law. But most 
do not, Daniels said.

The Breining Institute, the other large certifying organization, said 
in written responses to our questions that it has advocated criminal 
background checks for many years. But such a step raises questions, 
Breining wrote, such as what crimes should disqualify an applicant, and 
who should decide – the state, the certifying organization, or the employer. 
In general, Breining favors leaving it to the employer except in cases of 
crimes deemed so egregious that they should bar someone from ever 
becoming a counselor.
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II. Certifying organizations and state 
have no way of being alerted if a 
counselor commits a crime
Our investigation found several cases in which people already certified 
as drug and alcohol counselors were convicted of crimes. Many of these 
convictions involved drugs or alcohol, in clear violation of the treatment 
industry taboo against counselors abusing substances themselves.

These cases could have been detected. Many government agencies that 
do criminal background checks also get information about arrests or 
convictions that occur after a person has been licensed or certified. This 
is known as a “rap-back” system.

But because ADP and the organizations that certify drug and alcohol 
counselors don’t do criminal background checks, they get no information 
about subsequent arrests or convictions. This is a problematic omission 
for drug and alcohol counselors. Many have struggled with their own 
addictions. If they relapse as counselors, professionals in the field consider 
it crucial to keep them away from clients who are trying to stay sober 
themselves.

F.S. registered with CAADAC in 2009 and worked as counselor at an 
outpatient treatment program in Los Angeles. Three years later – in June 
2012 – he was charged in Orange County with possession of cocaine. 
He pled guilty and got three years probation, in addition to the five days 
in jail he had already served. A few months later, in December, he 
violated probation when a urine test came back positive for cocaine and 
he stopped going to treatment. The court ordered him to go into a more 
intensive program.

While his court case was unfolding, in October 2012, F.S. registered as 
a counselor with a second certifying organization, the Breining Institute.

J.M., one of the sex offenders who registered as a counselor, also had 
a drug conviction after serving his time. He registered to work as a 
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counselor with the Breining Institute in 2005 and maintained his 
registration by paying his biannual fee until 2009. In August 2006, 
he pled guilty to felony drug possession and was sentenced to serve 16 
months in state prison and had to register as a drug offender.

His prison sentence for drug possession amounted to one-third of the time 
he was registered to provide drug counseling.

Our investigation found four other individuals charged with driving under 
the influence while they were certified or registered to work as drug and 
alcohol counselors. One had a blood alcohol level of .20 percent, more 
than double the legal limit. In a fifth case, a woman in Victorville who 
was registered with Breining for two years was clearly having substance 
abuse problems. She was convicted during those two years of domestic 
battery, assault with a pliers and screwdriver, and theft of a vehicle. She 
was ordered by the court to undergo drug and psychiatric treatment.

In one of the DUI cases, E.D. was charged with driving with a blood 
alcohol level of .09 in June 2011, two years after registering with the 
Breining Institute and CAADAC. He also was working as a counselor 
for Breining, which in addition to educating and certifying counselors 
provides treatment. He pled no contest to a reduced charge of reckless 
driving under a section of the code that allows the conviction to be 
counted as a DUI prior in subsequent convictions. He was sentenced to 
attend a 12-hour class.

The program that ran the class: the Breining Institute, where E.D. was 
registered as a counselor and worked as a counselor.

In an interview, E.D. said the incident occurred when he tried to help a 
friend during an emergency and got into a fender-bender. He said he had 
a beer two or three hours earlier, and was far below the legal limit of .08 
blood alcohol content, despite what the court records say.

He said he reported it to Breining, his employer, even though he wasn’t 
required by law to do so. “I’m kind of a truthful guy,” he said.

Breining, if it knew about E.D.’s conviction, would have been required 
as his employer to report him to ADP. The department would have 
initiated an investigation. Breining said it could not comment on his case 
because it’s a confidential personnel matter. ADP said it has not received 
a complaint about E.D.

In December, E.D., who previously had been registered with Breining, 
became certified. He said he left the Breining Institute in February 2013, 
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and is now working as an independent contractor.

Our investigation found two other individuals who were convicted of 
sex offenses after registering or being certified as counselors.

B.L. registered with CAADAC in March 2006. Just three months later, 
he was charged in Riverside County with continuous sexual abuse over 
several years of two girls under the age of 14 who lived with him (court 
documents do not specify their relationship). He was sentenced to 12 
years in prison. His CAADAC registration expired a year later. It’s likely 
that he never worked as a counselor, since his conviction came so soon 
after his registration. But neither the state nor his certifying organization 
knew about it. In other health care fields in California, the licensing 
board would have been notified and likely would have revoked his 
license even though he was in prison.

J.C. was certified as a counselor by CAADAC in 1994. Three years 
later, he was charged with multiple counts of rape after two step-
daughters accused him of assaulting them over several years when they 
were teenagers in San Diego almost a decade earlier. He pled guilty 
to assault with intent to commit rape, sodomy or oral copulation, and 
was sentenced to 180 days in jail. J.C. continued to work as a chemical 
dependency counselor until 1999.

In an interview, J.C. said he gave up trying to find work in the field after a 
job interview in which he described the details of his crime.

“The guys were O.K., but the women were hostile,” he said.

He said he enjoyed being a counselor. He recalled a couple coming up 
to him with tears in their eyes. The woman thanked him for saving her 
husband.

“I was one of the best at it,” he said. “I watched some of these people fall 
apart and rebuild themselves.”

But he admits that being a counselor is a sensitive position of trust. 
Someone with a sex conviction should be scrutinized, he said.

“What’s the history?” he said. “How long ago did it happen? Someone 
would have to be responsible for that person. If you’re hiring a guy to 
counsel men, you probably won’t have that much of a problem.”
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Other states stay on top of subsequent arrests

Many of the states that require criminal background checks also try 
to track arrests or convictions that occur after counselors have been 
credentialed. Some arrange to be automatically alerted. Others rely on 
the counselors themselves or their peers to report arrests or convictions. 
Several require counselors who have committed a crime involving drugs 
or alcohol to undergo assessment or treatment before returning to the job.

In Florida, counselors must report an arrest within 72 hours of being 
released from custody. Others who are aware of a counselor running afoul 
of the law often get in touch with the non-profit board that licenses them, 
said Amy Peloquin, the board’s director.

Counselors have been revoked for failing to report, she said. The nature 
of the crime may indicate that a counselor has relapsed. In those cases, 
counselors are required to go on inactive status and can’t be reinstated 
until a qualified professional who’s assessed the counselor signs a return-
to-duty statement.

In Texas, statute allows the regulatory agency to take action when a 
counselor is charged with a crime. But the state usually holds off until 
conviction, said Stewart Myrick, the program director. Counselors who 
have relapsed are likely to be suspended, he said, but can be reinstated 
after they’ve met the requirements imposed by the court. Myrick’s agency 
also offers a peer assistance program for counselors in danger of relapse.

Ohio relies on counselors to report when they have been convicted 
of a felony or misdemeanor, and disciplines those who do not, said 
Amanda Ferguson, acting director of the Ohio Chemical Dependency 
Professionals Board. A DUI conviction would likely result in some form 
of discipline, probably including monitoring and monthly or quarterly 
treatment reports, she said. Most counselors who have had a relapse 
would be barred from seeing clients, unless the relapse was minor and 
the counselor is seeking treatment. As in Florida, counselors would need 
to obtain a statement that they are fit for duty.

Arizona also requires counselors to self-report. All health care providers in 
Arizona are required to report felonies and many misdemeanors within 10 
days, and must disclose all arrests when they renew their licenses. 

Some states get information about subsequent arrests, but not right away. 
In Washington, the state patrol does a quarterly report of licensees who 
have been arrested. Licensed counselors in Massachusetts submit to a new 
criminal background check when they apply for renewal every two years.
North Carolina relies on self-reporting. As in other states, counselors can 
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get into more trouble for failing to report than for committing the crime. 
A counselor who has been convicted of a DUI or drug offense must be 
assessed by a peer who tries to determine if the counselor has a serious 
problem or “drank too much at a wedding,” said Culbreth, the North 
Carolina board’s associate director. The case is seen as more serious if 
the counselor has a history of alcoholism or drug addiction.

California relies on employers to report 
subsequent crimes

Lacking either a rap-back system or any requirement that counselors self-
report crimes, ADP depends on the programs it licenses to alert the state 
when counselors they employ are arrested or convicted. This arrangement 
assumes that employers know about the crimes and, if they do, fulfill their 
legal obligation to report.

Considering the cases we uncovered in our investigation, it’s clear that 
one or the other is not occurring.

Warren Daniels, past president of CAADAC, said he requires criminal 
background checks of counselors in his Grass Valley treatment center. 
He said he also gets notifications of subsequent arrests.

“I pay the extra whatever it costs to do that,” he said. Counselors with 
substance abuse histories are told that they must stay sober, and are 
subject to “reasonable suspicion” drug testing.

But Daniels believes that many employers don’t go beyond the letter 
of the law, which does not require criminal background checks or 
subsequent arrest notifications. That would mean employers have no 
systematic way of learning about crimes committed by their counselors. 
Many probably never come to light.

Susan Blacksher, CAARR’s executive director, said even when an 
employer finds out about a crime, a quirk in state law allows counselors 
to sidestep consequences. ADP interprets the law as giving it jurisdiction 
over only counselors who work for programs that ADP licenses or certifies. 
A counselor who relapses or commits a criminal offense, Blacksher said, 
can simply quit to avoid disciplinary action. She said she knows of cases 
in which an employer moved a counselor into an administrative position 
or failed to notify the state because it didn’t want to lose the worker.

CAARR, she said, always suspends counselors who have relapsed, then 
gives them a chance to get back into treatment and return to the job. But 
that assumes that CAARR finds out about the relapse from the employer.
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III. Some counselors have been in 
trouble with other health care licensers
California, unlike some states, does not require certifiers to check with other 
health care licensers to see if would-be drug and alcohol counselors have 
run into troubles that would indicate they might not be fit to treat clients.

Our investigation found that such inquiries would bear fruit. We 
identified a doctor, a nurse, six certified nurse assistants and a nursing 
home worker who had been banned from their fields before becoming 
drug and alcohol counselors. In some cases, these health care 
professionals may have lost their licenses because of their own struggles 
with substance abuse, a common path to becoming a drug and alcohol 
counselor. But a review of records in these cases shows that drug or 
alcohol abuse was not always the primary cause for disciplinary action.

T.T. was decertified as a nurse assistant in 2002 after an investigation 
found that she jerked a nursing home resident out of bed, causing pain 
and redness in both of the resident’s wrists. Several years later, she started 
working at treatment centers and in 2012 registered as an intern with the 
Breining Institute.

P.H., in training to become a nurse assistant, was denied certification in 
2006 after a coworker said she saw him pushing down a nursing home 
resident. Breining certified him as a counselor in 2010.

In an interview, P.H. said he was falsely accused by a boss with whom 
he’d had a public argument about a week earlier. After losing his 
certification, he said, “I had to find a way to rebuild my life.” He worked 
as a volunteer at after-school programs for young people and was hired 
on as a counselor. He now works for a treatment program that provides 
counseling in prisons. No one has ever brought up his experience as a 
certified nurse assistant, he said. But checking administrative actions, 
he said, would be “a good idea.”

The Department of Public Health would not disclose its reasons for 
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decertifying four other nurse assistants that our investigation found were 
registered or certified as drug and alcohol counselors. The six that we 
identified by no means represent a definitive total. As with registered sex 
offenders, we focused only on those with names that were uncommon 
enough that we could be certain the counselor and the decertified nurse 
assistant were one and the same.

E.W. surrendered his medical license in 2005 when an investigation 
found that he had been prescribing dangerous medicines through an 
Internet site to patients he never met. In one case, the Redlands doctor 
prescribed narcotic analgesics to a woman addicted to them. In revoking 
his license, the Medical Board of California cited another case from 1993 
in which E.W. was found to have engaged in sexual misconduct with two 
patients. In that case, the board put him on probation for five years and 
suspended his license for 45 days.

In the 2005 agreement to surrender his license, E.W. agreed that if he 
ever applied to be licensed or certified “by any other health care agency 
in the State of California,” all of the charges in the Medical Board case 
would be deemed true.

In 2011, E.W. registered to work as a counselor with the Breining 
Institute. His registration expired in January 2013.

G.Y. was working as a licensed vocational nurse in 2003 when she was 
arrested on suspicion of stealing the identities of elderly and deceased 
patients at the Riverside hospital where she worked. She was convicted of 
three counts of identity theft, one count of committing a crime against an 
elder, one count of grand theft and one count of petty theft. According to 
press accounts at the time, she told a probation officer that she had started 
taking methamphetamine to stay awake for double shifts and was stealing 
to support her habit. She was sentenced to three years in prison.

She registered with Breining in 2012 and is listed on the website as active. 
She has worked recently at a residential program for young men and 
women and a methadone clinic.

In some other states, these cases would have been uncovered and 
reviewed to see if the circumstances should preclude the person from 
becoming a drug and alcohol counselor.

In Washington, for instance, information about all health care providers 
is maintained on the same database. Someone who had been disciplined 
as a nurse or doctor and tried to become a counselor would be flagged. 
The state also checks names on the National Practitioner Data Bank, 
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a congressionally mandated compilation of adverse licensure actions, 
medical malpractice payments and actions taken against an individual’s 
credential by professional societies, hospital privileging boards, peer 
review organizations or private accreditors.

If the applicant’s name shows up on either of these lists, a team reviews 
the case to determine what restrictions, if any, should be placed on the 
license, or whether it should be denied altogether.

Arizona also consults the National Practitioner Data Bank and 
investigates any prior actions taken against an applicant.

In California, some certifying organizations elect to ask applicants to 
disclose prior licenses, even though they’re not required to.

North Carolina, by contrast, requires applicants to report any previous 
administrative actions in other health-related fields. The application is a 
sworn statement, so the state can deny a license or impose other penalties 
if an applicant fails to disclose.

New York takes a similar approach, asking applicants to disclose other 
licensing actions both at the time of the initial application and again 
when a credential is renewed. Any prior administrative actions are 
reviewed by a committee to determine if the behavior that led to the 
discipline reflects on the person’s suitability to work with clients in drug 
or alcohol treatment.

Texas checks with three other mental health boards that handle licensed 
professional counselors, marriage and family therapists, and social 
workers. Beyond that, the state doesn’t look into other adverse actions 
unless it gets a tip.

Florida, on the other hand, does not check any prior licensing actions.

“Gosh…we may start doing that now,” Amy Peloquin, director of 
certification for the Florida Certification Board, wrote in an email after 
receiving a question from the oversight office.

Some counselors show up on lists of ineligible 
Medicare and Medi-Cal providers

We cross-checked lists of counselor names against a source that is not 
consulted by any of the states we contacted: individuals who have been 
excluded from receiving Medicare and Medi-Cal payments because of 
misconduct including fraud or other criminal activity. Like the National 
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Practitioner Data Bank, which is not publicly available, these lists also 
contain people who have been subject to adverse administrative actions 
such as license revocations.

The database included O.P., who was convicted of felony burglary and 
theft from an elder adult as part of a conspiracy by several people at an 
extended care hospital to steal more than $150,000 from patients. The 
scam, which took place over three years, involved getting Medi-Cal 
payments for all of the patients’ care, then requiring the patients to pay a 
share of their bills. For his part in the conspiracy, O.P. was sentenced to a 
year in jail. The court forbade him to work as a caretaker or housekeeper 
or in any facility that specialized in care of the elderly.

He registered with Breining to work as a counselor in 2011 and in recent 
years has been employed by a drug treatment center in Orange County.

In 2004, G.S. was banned from getting Medicare or Medi-Cal payments 
for 25 years and sentenced to six-and-a-half years in prison after being 
found guilty of fraudulently inflating bills at his San Leandro nursing 
home by almost $3 million over four years. He registered as a Breining 
counselor in 2011 and is still active.

In 2003, J.U., another owner of a business that engaged in Medicare-
fraud amounting to $27,500, was excluded from getting payments for 10 
years. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services noted that 
his convictions in that case also included identity theft and forgery. Three 
years later, he was convicted of grand theft. The following year, in 2007, 
he registered with CAADAC. His registration lapsed three years later. 
During that time, he worked for a treatment center in Compton.

M.O. was excluded from Medicare payments for five years after a criminal 
conviction related to the delivery of Medicare or Medi-Cal goods or 
services. He registered with Breining between 2010 and 2012. He is 
affiliated with a non-residential treatment center in Carson certified by 
ADP.
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IV. California’s fragmented regulatory 
system allows banned counselors to 
keep working
The oversight office found several counselors who were able to keep 
working despite having their registrations or certifications revoked. 
They simply signed up with a different certifying organization.

In most states, the so-called “jumpers” likely would be detected because a 
single state agency or non-profit organization is in charge of credentialing 
counselors and disciplining them. In these centralized systems, a counselor 
would have to fabricate a new identity to conceal a revocation. That’s 
also the case with other health-related professions in California. Doctors 
stripped of their licenses by the Medical Board of California, for instance, 
could not jump to a different credentialing body and keep practicing.

Drug and alcohol counselors, by contrast, can pick from seven certifying 
organizations. The organizations are supposed to check with their 
counterparts to make sure that an applicant has not been ordered revoked 
by ADP. But the regulation states that the check must be done only when 
the organization certifies counselors, not when they register.

That leaves a gaping loophole. Regulations allow counselors to work for 
five years without being certified, meaning that a revoked counselor could 
go that long without being detected. After five years, that same counselor 
might be able to register with another of the certifying organizations and 
keep working. (That phenomenon is detailed in Part V of this report.)

In one case we examined, the counselor’s earlier revocation was not a 
hindrance even when she became certified.

O.Z. lost her certification after a 2010 investigation found that she 
lived with one of her clients, a blatant violation of ethical standards that 
prohibit social or sexual relationships between counselors and clients. 
O.Z. denied living with the client even after the client’s parole officer had 
confirmed that they shared the same address. ADP ordered CAADAC to 
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revoke O.Z.’s certification.

Less than one month after ADP’s investigation, O.Z. registered with a 
different certifying organization, the Breining Institute. Two years later, 
in November 2012, Breining certified her as a counselor. O.Z., who has 
a history of property crimes and drug offenses, changed jobs around the 
time ADP ordered her certification to be revoked. She now works for a 
treatment program based in San Francisco.

In its written responses to our questions, the Breining Institute pointed out 
that the regulations are silent as to the consequences of a prior revocation, 
stating only that it must be disclosed. In the case of O.Z., Breining wrote, 
the CAADAC and ADP websites state only that she was revoked, without 
further explanation.

“Why was she revoked? Non-payment of CAADAC membership dues?” 
Breining wrote. The organization said that the lack of detail makes it 
impossible to come to an informed decision about whether she should be 
certified. (Breining could have obtained ADP’s report on O.Z., which is a 
public document.)

While the regulations appear to allow a revoked counselor to be certified 
by a different organization, they do require the organization to document 
the reasons and notify ADP within 48 hours. That did not occur in the 
case of O.Z., ADP told our office.

In other cases, the revoked counselor registered but never sought 
certification. That meant their certifying organizations were not required 
to check with their counterparts to see if they had been revoked.

ADP ordered the certifying organization CAARR to revoke M.G.’s 
certification after a 2006 investigation found that she had a sexual 
relationship with a client. The state was unable to substantiate another 
allegation that M.G. had threatened a staff member at the San 
Bernardino treatment center where she worked.

M.G. appealed the revocation, but withdrew her appeal in early 2008. 
Several months later, she registered with Breining. According to her 
Facebook page, M.G. continued to work as a drug and alcohol counselor 
until 2010 – four years after she was first revoked. She has since moved 
to a different state.

S.K. was revoked as a CAARR counselor in 2009 after an ADP 
investigation found that she had an inappropriate relationship with a 
client. The case came to light when she informed her Merced County 
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treatment center that she was quitting because she had been severely 
beaten by her boyfriend. Afterwards, other workers realized that a man 
she had introduced several times as her boyfriend had been a client. 
ADP’s investigation found that S.K. had led several group sessions in 
which her boyfriend participated as a client.

In September 2009, she registered with a different certifying organization, 
CAADAC. A year later, her registration expired. After quitting the Merced 
County program, S.K. went to work for a different program in San Martin, 
south of San Jose. According to her Facebook page, she graduated from a 
trucking school in 2011 and is no longer working as a counselor.

The California Association of Drinking Driver Treatment Programs 
revoked T.L.’s certification in May 2006 after an ADP investigation found 
that he violated clients’ confidentiality. T.L., working at an Anaheim 
program, got paid to provide a list of participants to an insurance 
company. State law bars counselors from revealing that someone is in 
a drug and alcohol program.

T. L. registered with the Breining Institute from 2009 until 2011. He 
worked at a counseling center in Laguna Hills until 2010 – four years 
after he was revoked. The oversight office could not determine whether 
he’s been working as a counselor since then.

The case of L.S. demonstrates a twist on this theme. Unlike the 
counselors described above, she did not sign up with a different certifying 
organization after having her initial certification revoked. Rather, she 
started off getting certified by two different organizations. When she got 
in trouble, only one revoked her. She then was able to continue working 
under the certificate she had with the other.

In late 2007, L.S. and her boyfriend were arrested and charged with 
embezzling money from a Victorville treatment center where he had 
been director and she had worked as office manager. At the time of arrests, 
L.S. had been certified by both CAADAC and the Breining Institute.

In 2008, after agreeing to pay back the $136,000 they stole, L.S. and 
her boyfriend were each sentenced to 180 days in jail, to be served on 
weekends. At some point that year, after doing its own investigation, 
CAADAC revoked her certification. ADP did not do a separate 
investigation. The Breining site continued to show that she was active.

In February 2010, ADP got a tip that L.S. was working at an outpatient 
treatment program in Barstow. It found that L.S. was still listed as having 
a current certification with the Breining Institute. But, because the 
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program where L.S. was alleged to be working had closed, ADP decided 
that it lacked jurisdiction. Instead, ADP forwarded the information about 
L.S.’s conviction to the Breining Institute.

Breining’s website profile of L.S. never changed. “No public record of 
discipline or administrative actions,” the website states.

In its written answers to our questions, the Breining Institute said that 
the codes of conduct in force at the time of L.S.’s conviction – Breining’s 
and the one written in state regulation - did not prohibit embezzlement. 
Under an updated code that went into effect in 2012, “Breining could 
discipline this counselor,” according to the written response.
 
Revoked counselor kept working and ADP didn’t notice

The case of R.G. is yet another variation on the theme: he continued to 
work at the same program performing counselor functions after being 
revoked – even after ADP interviewed him in an investigation. He was 
only fired when ADP started investigating a tip that he had signed up with 
a different certifying organization.

In May, 2010, ADP suspended R.G. after finding he had engaged in a 
social relationship with a former client. The client said it had gone beyond 
friendship, describing in detail an affair she had with R.G., who had also 
been involved in the client’s post-treatment care. Her husband backed 
up her account. He said that when he found out one afternoon that 
his wife wasn’t where she was supposed to be, he drove by R.G.’s house 
and saw her van there. ADP also documented 158 texts and phone calls 
between R.G. and the former client over two months. But after R.G. told 
the investigator that the allegation of an affair was an “absolute lie,” ADP 
found that there was “no evidence” of an affair, and only suspended him.

CAARR, R.G.’s certifying organization, decided to go further and revoked 
his registration.

About a year later, the treatment center where R.G. worked became 
the focus of an ADP investigation into allegations that the program was 
admitting clients too sick to be there. ADP substantiated the charges but 
allowed the program to keep operating. Several weeks later, a client died.

In its investigation of that death, ADP interviewed R.G., who had 
admitted the client despite evidence of serious illness, including yellow 
skin and eyes and tremors. He told investigators that unless a client “fell 
down,” he wouldn’t recognize symptoms that required medical attention 
because he was not a doctor.
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ADP looked through R.G.’s personnel file and discovered that, despite 
extensive training as a counselor, he was not certified as one. What 
ADP’s report failed to note, however, was that he had his registration 
revoked while working as a counselor at the same program. ADP cited the 
program for allowing someone who was not a counselor to admit clients.

In response to our questions, ADP said that it sent a notice to R.G.’s 
certifying organization, which in turn was required to notify R.G. and his 
employer that he’d been revoked. 

“It was the facility’s responsibility to ensure that (R.G.) did not provide 
counseling services once his certification was revoked,” ADP wrote.

Yet R.G. continued to work at the same Modesto treatment facility. In 
January 2012, he registered as a counselor with the Breining Institute. 
Several weeks later, ADP got a tip that the revoked counselor had 
registered with Breining. Around that time, the Modesto treatment center 
fired him, saying it had just become aware of the CAARR revocation, 
which occurred almost two years earlier.

How did Breining let R.G. sign up? A Breining representative told ADP 
that his use of a shortened version of his first name on his application 
would have “interfered” with the organization’s ability to cross-check with 
others to see if he had previously been registered or certified. In addition, 
the Breining official told ADP, R.G. denied on his application that he had 
ever had another credential or been subject to disciplinary actions.

In April 2012, after receiving an ADP order, Breining revoked R.G.’s 
registration.

Certifying organizations supposed to cross-check

A current regulation requires the seven certifying organizations to check 
with one another to see if applicants’ registrations or certifications were 
ever revoked – but only when they seek certification, not when they 
register.

In addition, the regulation does not address exactly what the cross-
checking should include. Is it enough for the organizations to check the 
name? Or should they also match other identifiers, such as birthdates 
and Social Security numbers? Those extra steps would guard against 
applicants providing minor variations on their names, as happened in the 
case of R.G., or even completely fictitious names. It would also account 
for legitimate occasions for name changes, such as marriage.
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The regulation is silent on these matters, leaving it up to certifying 
organizations to decide how deep to dig.

CAARR told the oversight office that, if an applicant’s name is similar to 
one on another organization’s database, it calls the organization to see if 
the date of birth and Social Security number are the same. CAARR also 
plans to start collecting driver’s license numbers from its counselors and 
posting photographs on its website to better enable programs and other 
certifying organizations to identify individuals.

Blacksher, CAARR’s executive director, said she believes counselors 
should only be able to register with one organization, a step that could 
plug some of the obvious gaps in tracking them.

CAADAC checks with other certifying organizations before an applicant 
for certification is approved to take the test. CAADAC does not check 
other identifiers such as Social Security numbers or dates of birth because 
they are not available on the certifying organizations’ websites.

Breining does not provide such identifying information to other certifying 
organizations out of confidentiality and privacy concerns. It does provide 
that kind of data to ADP as the agency charged with enforcing regulations. 
Breining believes that many current problems could be fixed by the wider 
use of a centralized database. Such a database could maintain internal 
records, including dates of birth and Social Security numbers, that could 
be shared among the certifiers but not released to the public.
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V. Counselors can circumvent 
requirement to get certified in 
five years
Counselors can flout a state regulation that requires them to become 
certified five years after registering by simply signing up with a different 
certifying organization, our investigation found.

ADP regulations approved in 2005 imposed the five-year limit. Individuals 
can work as counselors with no education or training by registering with 
one of the certifying organizations. But the state wanted to assure that 
inexperienced counselors were working towards the standards required 
for certification. Five years was seen as a reasonable interval for registrants 
to meet the requirements. Counselors who failed to achieve certification 
within five years would be revoked, unless the certifying organization 
granted a two-year hardship extension. The regulation also required that 
30 percent of a program’s counseling staff be certified.

But it contained a flaw: With seven or more certifying organizations at 
any given time, counselors who had reached the five-year limit with one 
organization could register with another.

To test whether this is happening, the oversight office examined CAADAC 
registrants who later registered with Breining. We chose this approach 
because the data we received from CAADAC included the original 
registration dates of counselors, and the dates their registration expired. 
This could be matched with start and end dates available on the 
Breining website. If the same data had been available for other certifying 
organizations, we may have found other instances of registered counselors 
who appear to have violated the regulation.

Even within the constraints of our methodology, we found 52 counselors 
who exceeded the five-year limit by switching registration from CAADAC 
to Breining.
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Four of these will have gone without certification for nine years or more 
by the time their current Breining registrations come up for renewal. Six 
have either worked for eight years or more or will hit that number by the 
time they must renew. Another 19 have worked for seven years with no 
certification, or will by their renewal date. Eighteen are approved for six 
years, and five for more than five years.

Breining wrote in response to our questions that it believes the five-year 
limit applies only to counselors who are working in programs overseen 
by ADP. Some who have registered as Breining counselors may not fit 
that definition. A registered counselor, for instance, might work for a 
county government, and be outside ADP’s purview and not subject to the 
regulation. It’s up to ADP, in its regular field audits of drug and alcohol 
programs, to determine if a counselor is subject to the five-year ceiling 
and is complying with regulation, Breining wrote.

ADP disagrees. In a written response to our question, ADP stated that 
someone who registered but was not working in a program overseen by 
ADP still would have to be certified in five years.

The timing of many of the cases we reviewed suggests intent to sidestep 
the five-year ceiling – counselors signed up with Breining just as time 
was running out with CAADAC.

S.J., a counselor in Riverside, registered with CAADAC from January 31, 
2006 until February 28, 2011. On February 23 of that year, five days before 
she hit the five-year limit with CAADAC, S.J. registered with Breining. 
She recently renewed that registration. When her renewal date arrives 
in 2015, S.J. will have been registered for more than nine years without 
being certified. An online service that includes a database of medical 
providers lists her employer as a treatment program licensed by ADP.

T.W., a Los Angeles counselor, registered with CAADAC until he 
reached the five-year limit on December 30, 2010. Less than three weeks 
later, he registered with Breining. On his renewal date on January 16, 
2015, he will have gone nine years without being certified. His personal 
website says he works as a substance abuse counselor.

Several other counselors followed the same pattern. P.M., for instance, 
signed up with Breining in 2011 two weeks before his CAADAC registration 
reached the cap. He works for a narcotic treatment program licensed 
by ADP, according to an online search. V.S. registered eight days before 
hitting the maximum. We could not determine where V.S. has worked.

In other cases, the dates don’t match up as closely, but the counselor’s 
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tenure as a registrant far surpasses the five years set by regulation. G.L., a 
Culver City counselor, hit her five-year limit with CAADAC on June 30, 
2011. Ten months earlier, she had registered with Breining. By the time 
she must renew her registration, on August 31, 2014, she will have been 
able to work without a certification for nine years and two months.

Despite our review suggesting that the problem is pervasive, ADP has taken 
action against counselors for exceeding the five-year limit only five times.

In one of these cases, M.G. registered with CAADAC and another 
certifying organization, CADDTP, but she hit the five-year limit with 
both organizations in 2011. In January 2012, she registered with Breining. 
Four months later, ADP did an investigation and ordered Breining to 
revoke her registration.

In November 2012, ADP issued a bulletin to certifying organizations and 
programs licensed or certified by the state to remind them of the five-year 
limit.

“ADP has noticed a trend in the increase in the number of counselors 
whose five year registration period has expired, but who continue to 
provide counseling services,” the bulletin stated.

ADP said it has cited treatment programs for employing counselors who 
have not been certified in five years.

In balkanized system, records are often inconsistent 
or misleading

Our investigation turned up many instances of public databases 
containing inconsistent or misleading information, potentially hampering 
treatment programs and members of the public who want to verify the 
status of a counselor.

This seems to be a by-product of California’s balkanized system of 
credentialing counselors. In most large states, the government or a single 
private entity maintains counselor records. In California, as many as 10 
private organizations and the state keep their own data, leading to gaps 
and inconsistencies.

In one example, the Breining Institute lists many of its counselors as 
“active” even though their renewals dates have passed.

In a random sample of 200 Breining counselors, our investigation found 
73 who were listed as active despite having renewal dates in the past – a 
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total of 36 percent. A.L., for instance, was due to renew his certification a 
decade ago on March 23, 2003, but his “current status” is active.

The oversight office also happened upon one case in which a counselor 
was erroneously listed as “inactive.”

Breining wrote in response to our questions that the “active” and 
“inactive” status listings for counselors are “short hand references,” and 
that the real status can be gleaned from the renewal date. Still, the 
apparent inconsistency may be confusing to a program or a member of 
the public.

Some inconsistencies involved confusing 
contradictions between databases. One 
counselor is listed as suspended on ADP’s 
website. That same counselor is listed 
on CAARR’s website as active. CAARR 
spells his last name differently. Another 
counselor shows up on ADP’s website 
as revoked, while CAADAC has her 
as “expired.” The ADP website does 
not reflect that the counselor was also 
registered with Breining, which lists her as 

“active,” despite the fact that her renewal 
date was in 2009.

G.D. shows up as “revoked” on ADP’s 
website, with the certifying organization 
listed as CAARR. Yet G.D. was certified 
by CAADAC, not CAARR. On the 
CAADAC website, his status is listed as 

“pending” rather than “revoked.”

J.M. is listed on ADP’s website as “revoked.” Yet CAADAC’s website shows 
his status as “expired.” ADP’s website did not mention that he was also 
certified by Breining, whose website lists him as “active” with no record 
of disciplinary action, despite the fact that his renewal date was in 2002.

Recently, some of the certifying organizations combined their databases, 
in part to plug gaps and inconsistencies. Yet our investigation came 
upon one case in which a counselor’s revoked status, reflected on the 
websites of ADP and the certifying organization, does not show up on the 
combined site, where her status is left blank.

What’s the truth about
counselor G.D.?
•	 According	to	the	state	ADP’s	 
 website, G.D.’s certification 
 was revoked in 2011.
•	 ADP	lists	his	certifying	 
 organization as CAARR.
•	 In	fact,	G.D.	was	not	certified	 
 by CAARR, but by another  
 organization, CAADAC.
•	 CAADAC’s	website	says	that	 
 G.D.’s certification expired in  
 2011, but lists his status not 
 as “revoked” but “pending.” 
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Recommendations
Under Gov. Jerry Brown’s proposed budget for the 2013-14 fiscal year, the 
Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs is scheduled to be dismantled 
on July 1, 2013, with most of its duties, including oversight of counselor 
certification, handed over to the Department of Health Care Services.
Much attention and work will no doubt be dedicated in coming months 
to making this a smooth transition. But once the dust settles, the Senate 
Office of Oversight and Outcomes believes that officials should consider 
drastic changes to California’s system for credentialing counselors:

•	 Because	many	shortcomings	of	the	current	system	stem	from	the	
complications of seven private organizations sharing oversight 
with the state, the Legislature should once again consider putting 
the state firmly in charge of licensing and/or certifying counselors. 
This change could be phased in over several years to allow 
certifying organizations to shift to an emphasis on education and 
training. In this scenario, the state could require fingerprint-based 
criminal background checks for anyone working as a counselor. 
The background check should include “rap-back” notifications 
of subsequent convictions, as now occurs with other health-
care professionals licensed by the Department of Consumer 
Affairs. The state agency that oversees counselors could establish 
guidelines for assessing criminal histories. The oversight office 
recommends that cases be considered under a general principle – 
such as fitness to function as a counselor – rather than automatic 
disqualification for specified convictions.

•	 Alternatively,	the	state	agency	that	oversees	counselors	should	
promulgate a regulation authorizing and requiring certifying 
organizations to perform criminal background checks. In this 
case, the state could still establish guidelines for assessing criminal 
histories, and could set up an advisory panel of experts from within 
the treatment industry to evaluate and make recommendations on 
individual cases.

•	 If	the	state	does	not	institute	fingerprint-based	criminal	background 
checks with subsequent arrest notifications, it should promulgate 
a regulation requiring registered and certified counselors to notify 
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their certifying organizations within a certain time frame if they 
have been arrested. The regulation should also specify sanctions 
for counselors who failed to comply.

•	 The	state	department	that	oversees	counselors	should	write	a	
regulation requiring either the state, if it takes over counselor 
credentialing, or the certifying organizations to check individuals 
applying to work as counselors against the National Practitioner 
Data Bank. The regulation should include guidelines for how 
prior administrative actions against an applicant would be 
evaluated.

•	 The	state	department	that	oversees	counselors	should	amend	
current regulations to require certifying organizations to check 
with their counterparts, upon registration rather than certification, 
to see if a counselor has ever been revoked. The department 
should delete a regulation that appears to give certifying 
organizations the discretion to certify counselors who have 
previously been revoked.

•	 If	the	state	does	not	take	over	counselor	credentialing,	it	
should develop a regulation specifying the methods certifying 
organizations should use to cross-check applicants. The regulation 
should require certifying organizations to share identifiers other 
than names, such as driver’s license numbers, dates of birth 
or Social Security numbers. The regulation should clarify that 
certifying organizations are required to check with each other 
to see if a registrant has already reached the five-year limit for 
working without certification with another organization.

•	 The	state	department	that	oversees	counselors	should	
clarify through regulation its authority to sanction certifying 
organizations for failing to adequately vet those they register and 
certify.

•	 The	Senate	may	want	to	consider	legislation	to	extend	the	
jurisdiction of the department that oversees counselors to those 
who are not working in programs licensed or certified by the 
department.

•	 The	department	that	oversees	counselors	should	consider	a	
change in regulations to make exceptions to the requirement to 
become certified in five years for those who have left the field for a 
time.
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